Super Kings retain Dhoni, Raina, Ashwin, Jadeja, Bravo

Sports No Comments on Super Kings retain Dhoni, Raina, Ashwin, Jadeja, Bravo 8

Chennai, Jan 10 (IANS) Chennai Super Kings, the most successful IPL franchise, Friday retained skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Ravichandran Ashwin, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja and Dwayne Bravo ahead of next month’s players auction for the seventh edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

“Almost all of the retained players have attained cult status in the state and each is a master finisher and proven match-winner. All of them carry huge expectations and own many a record set in the IPL Championship too,” Chennai Super Kings said in a statement.

“In Mahendra Singh Dhoni, the Chennai Super Kings have a match-winner and the best finisher in limited overs cricket. Raina is yet to miss a single match and Ravichandran Ashwin often opens the attack when the team is faced with pressure situations. Ravindra Jadeja has flourished post his stint with the Super Kings and is now making a strong mark in International cricket. Bravo’s credentials are indisputable. With their core team in place, the Chennai Super Kings seem set for another strong showing this year,” the statement added.

The franchise said that besides the retained players, it can also buy back additional members of their squads at the auction via right-to-match cards. The number of right-to-match cards available to each franchise will depend on the number of players already retained. Since Super Kings have retained five players, they will have one right-to-match card at the auction.

This year the championship rules allow for five players to be retained, of whom only four can be capped India players.

Super Kings have been the most successful of the IPL franchises, making the final five times out of six, and winning on two occasions – in 2010 and 2011. In 2010, they did the double of winning the IPL and the Champions League T20.

Back to Top

Copyright © 2013 The Avenue Mail. All Rights Reserved. Online edition of The Avenue Mail published by Vimal Agarwal. Editor: Vimal Agrawal. Telephone: +91 657 2442826.
%d bloggers like this: