Page 1 Jan 29_page1_image7

Nathwani and Premchand file RS nomination, sure to win

Ranchi No Comments on Nathwani and Premchand file RS nomination, sure to win 33

Ranchi: The process of filing nomination for the two seats of Rajya Sabha from Jharkkhand concluded on Tuesday.

Nominations were filed for the independent candidate Parimal Nathwani, supported by Bharatiya Janata Party and All Jharkhand Students Union, and Rashtriya Janata Dal candidate Premchand Gupta. Gupta has the support of the ruling alliance.

Only two persons were nominated till 3 pm, the deadline for filing of nomination papers for the RS polls. This has led to sure election of the two candidates for the Rajya Sabha seats. The formal announcement of names of the elected RS members will be made on 31st January. It is now sure that both candidates will be elected without any protest.

First nomination was filed in one set by Parimal Nathwani before the returning officer cum secretary in-charge of the Jharkhand Assembly Sushil Kumar Singh.

Just 10 minutes before the expiry of the deadline, Premchand Gupta filed nomination in four sets. The returning officer said the nomination papers will be scrutinized on 29th January. The names of candidates may be taken back till 31st January.

He said the unopposed election of the two candidates will be made with the consent of the Election Commissionof India. Thereafter certificates of election will be handed over to the candidates, he said.

The nomination of Nathwani was proposed by AJSU MLA Chandra Prakash Choudhary, Umakant Rajak, Navin Jaisawal, Ramchandra Sahis, Satyanand Jha Batul of Bharatiya Janata Party, Laxman Gilua, Amit Yadav, Harekrishna Singh, CP Singh and Ramchandra Baitha.

Gupta’s nomination was proposed by Annapurna Devi, Suresh Paswan, Sanjay Kumar Singh Yadav, Rajendra Prasad Singh, Mannan Mallik, Gitashree Oraon, Sourabh Narayan Singh, Banna Gupta, Anant Pratap Dev and Sarfaraz Ahmad.

Back to Top

Copyright © 2013 The Avenue Mail. All Rights Reserved. Online edition of The Avenue Mail published by Vimal Agarwal. Editor: Vimal Agrawal. Telephone: +91 657 2442826.
%d bloggers like this: