Ruling and Opposition parties may secure 1-1 tie in RS poll

News Bits No Comments on Ruling and Opposition parties may secure 1-1 tie in RS poll 7

Ranchi: With the Jharkhand Vikas Morcha announcing to keep itself out of the Rajya Sabha election in the state, the chances of election without opposition of one candidate each of the ruling and Opposition parties have increased.

Now each of the two winning candidate will need the support of 24 MLAs giving first priority.

In such condition, one candidate of the Opposition is expected to win with the support of 18 Bharatiya Janata Party and six All Jharkhand Students Union MLAs.

In view of the strong position of the Opposition, the ruling party too, may go for just one candidate in order to avoid defeat.

Notwithstanding the current situation, neither the ruling alliance nor the Opposition has
revealed their strategy for the polls in the 81-member house.

Sources however claim that Independent Rajya Sabha MP Parimal Nathwani, elecgted in the
year 2008 from Jharkhand, may again be sent to the Upper House with the support of the BJP and

But so far it is not clear whether Nathwani will contest the polls as an independent or on a ticket from any political party.

On the other hand, the ruling alliance seems sure of securing one of the two Rajya Sabha seats.

But the name of probable candidates and status of parties supporting or opposing the ruling
alliance’s claim have not been made clear as yet.

Sources said Jharkhand Mukti Morcha MLAs will be holding a meeting on 27th January. The
name of party’s Rajya Sabha candidate may be announced on the same day.

Rashtriya Janata Dal has declared Premchand Gupta as its candidate for the RS polls while there are several names doing the round from the Congress camp.

The process of filing nomination began on 21st January last, the last date for the same being 28th January last.

The nomination papers will be scrutinized on 29th January. Nominations will be allowed to be
withdrawn by 31st January.

The election is likely to be held from 9 am to 4 pm on 7th February. Counting of votes will start the same day at 5 pm and the results will be announced till late evening, sources said.

Back to Top

Copyright © 2013 The Avenue Mail. All Rights Reserved. Online edition of The Avenue Mail published by Vimal Agarwal. Editor: Vimal Agrawal. Telephone: +91 657 2442826.
%d bloggers like this: