Radio Listeners’ Club get-together at Jamshedpur’s G Town Club

Jamshedpur No Comments on Radio Listeners’ Club get-together at Jamshedpur’s G Town Club 656

Mail News Service

Jamshedpur, July 18: The age of the radios and transistor sets is over – well almost. Barring the early morning of Mahalaya when Mahishasur Mardini with immortal Birendra Krishna Bhadro’s Chandi Path is broadcasted ritually to set the Durga Puja mood in motion, the radios and transistor sets join the shelves of one time assets. The music from various radio stations, news broadcasts by Melville D’ Mellow, Surajit Sen, VK Chakrapani, Latika Ratnam, Bijon Bose, Debdulal Bandyopadhyay, Nilima Sanyal and many other legendry radio personalities still call out from the pages of several books of memory. Happily, there are still people who nurture the love of listening in rural climes. What is heartening is, when one listens to the long list of names for music requests on Vividh Bharati and other select broadcasts, the cautious optimism begins to take shape in the form of reemergence of the radio. Young and old are trekking back through time to catch up on the romance of sound not to be found in TVs and music systems.

The Radio Listeners’ Club is one such organization that adheres to the magic of radio. The members organized a get-together at the G Town Club in Bistupur with Shrawan Kumar Kabra chairing the event. The members chalked out the roadmap for Radio Listeners’ Day wherein it was unanimously decided that an evening of melodies, ‘Sangit Sandhya’ would be organized wherein film music of poet, litterateur and lyricist Niraj would be the theme. Aptly entitled, ‘Karwan Guzar Gaya’ (The Caravan has passed on), old melodies by popular music composers and singers would add colour to the many bouts of nostalgia of not that many years long old timers.

The members decided to set in motion an agitation in demand for the greatest civilian honour, the Bharat Ratna Award for Md Rafi. This movement will be spearheaded by Sulrukhan Singh Bhatia who, along with his team has been asked to convert it into a national movement.

Radio Listeners’ Club president Bharat Bhushan ‘Dost’ announced the newly form executive committee. It includes Chinmay Mahto, Sunil Sinha and Arun Kumar (joint secretaries), Gulab Singh (national advisor and spokesman) and NRI member based in London Deshraj Wassan (international advisor and spokesperson).

The day’s even was conducted by sports announcer V Raman. Rajendra Mangar, B Krishna Rao, Rajendra Bhadani, GD Kauntia, Mahavir Agiwal, Gopal Agrawal, Lal Babu and Sanjit Gabri expressed their opinions and suggestions during the meeting.

Back to Top

Copyright © 2013 The Avenue Mail. All Rights Reserved. Online edition of The Avenue Mail published by Vimal Agarwal. Editor: Vimal Agrawal. Telephone: +91 657 2442826.
%d bloggers like this: