Polling at Ichagarh today, constituency set for triangular fight

Jamshedpur No Comments on Polling at Ichagarh today, constituency set for triangular fight 159

Jamshedpur:  As Ichagarh Assembly constituency goes on poll on Thursday December 12 it is set to witness triangular contest.

BJP’s sitting MLA Sadhu Charan Mahto is facing tough contest from independent candidate Arvind Kumar Singh alias Malkhan Singh, JMM candidate Savita Mahto wife of late Sudhir Mahto.

Sitting MLA has been in news for bad news. She allegedly assaulted the district land acquisition officer Dipu Kumar on February 22. The police had filed FIR against Ichagarh BJP legislator in an assault case that took place last at Raghunathpur village in Nimdih.

The Ichagarh constituency that goes to polls on December 12 has many new faces with the exception of veteran political player featuring this year once again as an independent candidate.

History has proven time and again that Ichagarh has remained among the hot seats in the Assembly contests. All Jharkhand eyes are on this take off base for the Ranchi dome of power. The mood of the voters of Ichagarh constituency is different from those of others. The people of Ichagarh demand development and change for the better, a demand that has felled many a veteran.

Prior to that year, the elections were the sole domain of princely candidates. In the 1990 Assembly polls of undivided Bihar Prince Prabhat Kumar Adityadev suffered a defeat and since then, the royal family has distanced itself from the political arena.

In 1995 among the big names that featured in that election were Freedom Fighter on a Congress ticket Dhananjay Mahto, hi-profile BJP leader Hikim Mahto, Jamshedpur’s present parliamentarian  then on a JMM (Mardi) ticket Bidyut Baran Mahto, former parliamentarian Sunil Mahto of Janata Dal, former deputy chief minister Sudhir Mahto, former legislator Arvind Kumar Singh alias Malkhan Singh among others. Arvind Kumar Singh was the new face in the Ichagarh Assembly setup.

Meanwhile, after being elected a member of the Legislative Assembly of Bihar in 1995, Arvind Singh was elected as a BJP candidate in the Jharkhand Assembly contest of 2000 and then again in 2009 this time on a JVM ticket.

Singh has been active raising issues of the Subernarekha Multipurpose Project (SMP) affected families and sought additional compensation funds in line with the revised R&R policy. 

Seraikela-Kharsawan SP, Karthik S confirmed that naxal movement is on in the district, including in the area falling under Ichagarh assembly constituency.

“We have made proper security arrangements.  The para-military forces that have been deployed for maintaining security during the poll include CRPF, CISF, Jharkhand Jaguar, Jharkhand Armed Police, Border Security Force and district police,” said the SP.

Karthik pointed out that the para-military forces as well as the district police have been instructed to follow standard operational process (SOP) while extending security cover to the polling parties as well as the voters.

Back to Top

Copyright © 2013 The Avenue Mail. All Rights Reserved. Online edition of The Avenue Mail published by Vimal Agarwal. Editor: Vimal Agrawal. Telephone: +91 657 2442826.
%d bloggers like this: