Padma Shri for Jharkhand’s Shashadhar Acharya and Madhu Mansuri Hasmukh

Jamshedpur, Jharkhand, Kolhan, Nation, Ranchi No Comments on Padma Shri for Jharkhand’s Shashadhar Acharya and Madhu Mansuri Hasmukh 1447

Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj, Mary Kom among 141 Padma Award recipients

New Delhi, Jan 25 (IANS) Former central ministers Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj and George Fernandes, have been posthumously awarded Padma Vibhushan, India’s second highest civilian honour, the Ministry of Home Affairs announced on Saturday. Jharkhand’s Guru Shashadhar Acharya (Seraikela-Kharsawan) and Madhu Mansuri Hasmukh received Padma Shri Award in the field of Art.

Former Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar has been given Padma Bhushan, the third highest civilian award. All the four BJP stalwarts had died last year. This year’s Padma Awards list includes 7 Padma Vibhushan, 16 Padma Bhushan and 118 Padma Shri Awards (fourth highest civilian honour), the statement said, adding 34 of the awardees are women.

Guru Shashadhar Acharya

Olympic medal winner boxer MC Mary Kom has been given Padma Vibhushan; badminton star PV Sindhu has been conferred Padma Bhushan.

Renowned classical singer from Varanasi, Chhannulal Mishra, is among the Padma Vibhushan awardees; whereas playback singer Suresh Wadkar has been awarded the fourth highest civilian honour.

Bollywood personalities – Karan Johar, Ekta Kapoor and Kangana Ranaut- are among the Padma Shri awardees.

18 people from the category of “Foreigners/NRI/PIO/OCI” have also been awarded. Mauritius Prime Minister Anerood Gugnauth has got the second highest civilian honour.

Industrialists Anand Mahindra and Venu Shrinivasan, former Nagaland Chief Minister SC Jamir and Jammu and Kashmir politician Muzaffar Hussain Baig have been awarded Padma Bhushan. founder Sanjeev Bikhchandani, industrialist Bharat Goenka, technocrat Nemnath Jain have been given Padma Shri.

‘Padma Vibhushan’ is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service; ‘Padma Bhushan’ for distinguished service of high order and ‘Padma Shri’ for distinguished service in any field. The awards are announced on the occasion of Republic Day every year.

Related Articles

Back to Top

Copyright © 2013 The Avenue Mail. All Rights Reserved. Online edition of The Avenue Mail published by Vimal Agarwal. Editor: Vimal Agrawal. Telephone: +91 657 2442826.
%d bloggers like this: