Odisha’s Maitree Rout bags double crown at Beldih AITA Championship Series

Jamshedpur, Sports No Comments on Odisha’s Maitree Rout bags double crown at Beldih AITA Championship Series 452

Ritabrata Sarkar wins boys singles Under-18 title

Jamshedpur, Dec 7: Maitree Diksha Rout of Odisha steals the show by winning a double crown at the just concluded Beldih Club AITA Championship Series 2018, held at the clay courts of Beldih Club and United Club in Jamshedpur.

In the early hours of the day, Rout seemed to be in full form as she thrashed Prashansa Srivastava without conceding a single game, in the finals of the Girls Singles Under 14 category. In the second half of the day, Rout once again went on court to finish a small task of outclassing state-mate Simran Neha Ekka by an easy 6-1,6-2 to clinch the Girls Singles Under 18 title.

Rout also partnered Simran Neha Ekka in the Girls Doubles Under 18 event, where they had to eventually be satisfied with the finalist’s trophy. The Girls Doubles Under 18 was won by top seeded Amrita Ohdedar & Taru Sai Joshi, both from Bengal.

Top seed in Boys Singles Under 14, Wyatt O’Brien did justice to his billing as he overpowered the challenge from Arya Bhattacharya, seeded 2 in the draw, by a straight 6-2,6-2.

In a marathon encounter between two unseeded players, it was Ritabrata Sarkar who ultimately prevailed over the heavily aggressive Md Fardeen. Sarkar won the Boys Singles Under 18 event by a long 4-6,7-5,6-3.

Md Fardeen though got satisfied with the Boys Doubles Under 18 trophy which he won by partnering Amit Rout. The duo got the better of Arunava Majumdar and Asish Kumar Parida in the finals by a clean 6-2,6-4.

Avneesh Gupta, Vice President, Shared Services, Tata Steel Limited was the Chief Guest for the Prize Distribution Ceremony along with other dignitaries like R N Murthy, MD – Tinplate, Amitava Bakshi, Chief Procurement Officer, Tata Steel Limited, Ravi Radhakrishnan, Chief Aviation Services & Sports, Tata Steel Limited and others.

Related Articles

Back to Top

Copyright © 2013 The Avenue Mail. All Rights Reserved. Online edition of The Avenue Mail published by Vimal Agarwal. Editor: Vimal Agrawal. Telephone: +91 657 2442826.
%d bloggers like this: