Jharkhand Assembly Polls: 56 candidates from East Singhbhum file nomination on last day of phase 2

Jamshedpur No Comments on Jharkhand Assembly Polls: 56 candidates from East Singhbhum file nomination on last day of phase 2 1867

Heavyweight candidates of BJP and Congress file nominations

Raghubar’s daag (taint) has tarnished the saffron colour of BJP: Saryu Roy 

Jamshedpur, Nov. 18: Chief Minister Raghubar Das filed his nomination from Jamshedpur East Assembly seat on Monday.

In presence of Jamshedpur MP Bidyut Baran Mahto, MLA Sadhucharan Mahto and Gurdev Singh Raja, vice president Das, Jharkhand State Minority Commission filed his nomination at SDO’s office.

It was day of heavyweight candidates in Jamshedpur today. Candidates of BJP and Congress filed their nominations for different assembly segments at the district collectorate in Jamshedpur on Monday. 

As declared by rebel BJP senior leader Saryu Roy also filed his nomination from Jamshedpur East (general) constituency.

Five times Jamshedpur East MLA Raghubar Das along with supporters reached to the district collectorate. Latter, addressing the media, expressed confidence that the BJP will win more than 65 seats in the State on his own. He said that voted to power for next term their focus will be on education and health.  

 He said that development and better governance has been the priority of the State Government and in the five years development has taken in every area and in future also development and good governance will remain the focus areas for the government.

 “Our party believes in the politics of development and politics of caste and communalism was not in the culture of the party. Based on our work, policies, schemes and on the basis of 3.25 crore people of Jharkhand we will return to power with more than 65 plus seats,” he said.

Das had won the 2014 assembly polls from Jamshedpur East with a margin of 70,157 against nearest Congress rival Anand Bihari Dubey. Before leaving for nomination, Das performed prayed at Shitala Mandir.

Nearly 56 candidates filed nomination from six assembly constituencies (Jamshedpur East, Jamshedpur West, Potka, Jugsalai) at the district collectorate in Jamshedpur and Ghatshila, Baharagora at Ghatshila sub-divisional office in Ghatshila on the last day of filing of nomination today. 

Former BJP cabinet minister and two times Jamshedpur West MLA, Saryu Roy today took out a rally from Sakchi Bodhi Mandir to the district collectorate to file nomination at the district collectorate as an Independent candidate from Jamshedpur West constituency.

There interesting slogans raised by supporters ‘Saryu tumse bair nahin, Raghubar teri khair nahin (We have nothing against Saryu, bad days for Raghubar). There were placards supporting Saryu Roy written by Hindu Yuva Vahini from Gorakhpur, Uttar Pradesh.

“I will continue to expose the corruption and unethical practices of this in power as I have done in the past. I will also try to remind the Central government that if ownership rights can be given to urban slum dwellers in Delhi why not the same can apply in Jamshedpur?.

I will also try to assure voters in Jamshedpur East that demolition of settlements without rehabilitation would not be allowed any more, If needed will meet our Prime Minister for ownership rights and even go to court. I have not let a single house be demolished in Jamshedpur West. Management of polling booths and other expenses would be borne by the masses as I am fighting for the masses cause. I can see strong resentment amongst people against the sitting MLA’ said Roy.

Taking a dig at Raghubar Das, Saryu Roy said, “Raghubar’s daag (taint) has tarnished the saffron colour of BJP and this cannot be cleansed by Modi detergent and Shah laundry.

 Apart from Roy, the Chief Minister is being challenged by Congress Party’s national spokesperson and XLRI Jamshedpur Professor Gourav Vallabh and JVM’s central secretary Abhay Singh.  

Former XLRI Jamshedpur professor and Congress national spokesperson Gourav Vallabh today worshipped the idol of Birsa Munda at Birsanagar before leaving for filing nomination and addressed a rally at Aam Bagan in Sakchi before walking to district collectorate to file nomination on Congress ticket for Jamshedpur East. Except Congress district president Vijay Khan no senior Congress leaders could be seen accompanying the candidate for the prestigious Jamshedpur East constituency.

Meanwhile Shiv Sena has decided not to field any candidate from Jamshedpur West and East. The party has asked its party workers to support Saryu Roy from Jamshedpur West. 

Back to Top

Copyright © 2013 The Avenue Mail. All Rights Reserved. Online edition of The Avenue Mail published by Vimal Agarwal. Editor: Vimal Agrawal. Telephone: +91 657 2442826.
%d bloggers like this: