DC allots election symbols

DC allots election symbols to all 15 candidates

Jamshedpur No Comments on DC allots election symbols to all 15 candidates 83

Jamshedpur: East Singhbhum district administration has sent a proposal to the Election Commission to shift eight election booths situated in Naxalite-hit areas of Baharagora, Ghatsila and Pokta to ensure peaceful polling.

The deputy commissioner-cum-district returning officer of East Singhbhum Dr Amitabh Kaushal, who allotted election symbol to the 15 candidates in fray for the Jamshedpur Lok Sabha polls today, said, “We have sent the proposal to the Election Commission seeking shifting of the booths due to security reasons. These booths are located in sensitive areas prone to Naxalite violence. They are also remotely situated. This is the reason for us to propose shifting of these booths.”

The DC said the polling booths had been shifted to a distance of three to five kilometer from the previously designated booth. There is one such booth in Baharagora, while in Ghatsila and Potka there are five and two booths respectively.

The sensitive booths are situated in Madhupur, Basadera, Khejurdari, Maheshpur, Netra, Bareda, Satbakhra and Kasibera.

The candidates and their symbols allotted today are as follows: Angad Mahato (candle), KC Mardi (broom), Jesai Mardi (carrot), DG Raja (auto rickshaw), Sitaram Tudu (glass), Akhiruddin (flute), Upendra Karmakar alias Kantha Singh (battery torch), Om Prakash Anand (cup plate) and Dinesh Mahato (tub), Mobin Khan (almirah) and Hari Oraon (coconut), Dr Ajay Kumar of Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (comb), Vidyut Varan Mahato of Bharatiya Janata Party (lotus), Niroop Mohanty of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (bow and arrow) and Doman Chandra Bhagat of Bahujan Samaj Party (elephant).

The returning officer further said that a total of 30,316 new voters had been added to the list after submission of Form 6. Photo identity cards will be distributed to the voters. There are 15,518 male voters while remaining 14,798 voters are females. There are a total 15, 80, 672 voters in East Singhbhum out of which 8,10,924 are male voters.

There will be 208 magistrates on duty during the polls. They will be deputed in 26 zones across the district that will be divided into 12 super zones. There are 941 service voters. Polling will be held at 1626 booths. A training is on to give information to polling duty staff on the use of electronic voting machine.

Related Articles

Back to Top

Copyright © 2013 The Avenue Mail. All Rights Reserved. Online edition of The Avenue Mail published by Vimal Agarwal. Editor: Vimal Agrawal. Telephone: +91 657 2442826.
%d bloggers like this: