Run (1)

6,400 fitness enthusiasts participate in Jamshedpur Run-a-thon

Jamshedpur, Sports No Comments on 6,400 fitness enthusiasts participate in Jamshedpur Run-a-thon 712

Jamshedpur, Nov 18: About 6,400 fitness enthusiasts participated in the fifth edition of Jamshedpur Run-a-thon on Sunday. Tata Steel CEO and managing director T.V. Narendran also completed his 10 km run.

Senior superintendent of police Anoop Birtharay; city SP Prabhat Kumar; Tata Steel former managing director J.J. Irani also enthusiastically participated.

Participants turned up for the run across the 3 categories of races, with runners representing more than 16 states across India. The event started from the Archery Ground, JRD Tata Sports Complex from 6:00 am onwards.

The 10-km and 7-km races were open to all (Indian Nationals only), while the 5-km run was for under-16 boys and girls. The 10-km race is the internationally approved distance for road races by International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF).

At the end of the marathon today, the 10 km men’s category was won by Harmanjot Singh while the female category was won by Puja Mondal. In 7 km, Shrvan Kumar won the men’s category and Vijay Laxmi won the female category.

Seken Purty won the five km category in men’s category while Itishree Mohanta won the female category.

The winner of the 10-km (male) finished the race in 32 mins 04 secs whereas the winner of 10-km (female) finished the race in 37 mins 54 secs. The 7-km (male) winner finished the race in 22 mins 57 secs whereas the winner of 7-km (female) finished the race in 26 mins 48 secs.

The 5 km (male) and 5-km (female) winners finished the race in 17 mins 11 secs and 20 mins 50 secs respectively.

Also present were DC East Singhbhum Amit Kumar, SSP East Singhbhum Anup Birthare, Vice President, Safety, Health and Sustainability Tata Steel Sanjiv Paul, Chanakya Chaudhary, Vice President, Corporate Services, Suresh Dutt Tripathi, Vice President, Human Resources Management, Sudhanshu Pathak, VP Steel Manufacturing, Avneesh Gupta, Vice President, Shared Services, C D Singh, Secretary Jharkhand Athletics Association, Neeraj Kant, Managing director ISWP, Tarun Daga, MD, JUSCO, and other senior dignitaries of Tata Steel.

Dr J J Irani congratulated the winners and participants of Run-a-thon 2018.
Jamshedpur Football Club (JFC) members and fanfares also participated during the event.

Related Articles

Back to Top

Copyright © 2013 The Avenue Mail. All Rights Reserved. Online edition of The Avenue Mail published by Vimal Agarwal. Editor: Vimal Agrawal. Telephone: +91 657 2442826.
%d bloggers like this: