bjp symbol

BJP suspends two MLAs for praising Nitish Kumar

Bihar No Comments on BJP suspends two MLAs for praising Nitish Kumar 11

Patna, Feb 6 (IANS) The BJP Thursday suspended two of its legislators in Bihar for choosing to back Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, and not the party’s prime ministerial hopeful Narendra Modi, as the next prime minister.

Bharatiya Janata Party’s state president Mangal Pandey said the party has suspended two legislators – Rana Gangeshwar Singh and Avanish Kumar Singh – for anti-party activities.

“The party has suspended both for crossing the party line. It will send a strong message,” Pandey said.

Rana Gangeshwar Singh, BJP legislator from Mohiuddinnagar in Samastipur district, has been backing Nitish Kumar instead of Narendra Modi as the next prime minister for the last few months.

Last week, he had said that the people of Bihar should vote for the Nitish Kumar-led Janata Dal (United) in the 2014 general election.

He said that as Nitish Kumar turned around the conditions in Bihar, he would turn around the country for better.

Avanish Kumar Singh, who represents Chiraia in East Champaran district, praised Nitish Kumar for developing Bihar and dared senior BJP leader and former deputy chief minister Sushil Kumar Modi to take action against him.

He had said there was no respect for honest leaders in the BJP.

He also hinted that he would contest the next general election from the Motihari parliamentary constituency.

Last year, BJP had suspended its legislator Amarnath Gami for praising Nitish Kumar. Gami is a legislator from Hayaghat, in Darbhanga district.

Another BJP legislator, Vijay Mishra, has already declared his intention to join JD-U and has praised Nitish Kumar on many occasions. He is a BJP legislator from Jale assembly seat in Darbhanga.

Since Nitish Kumar dumped the BJP in June this year, several BJP leaders, including a party spokesperson, have joined the JD-U.

Back to Top

Copyright © 2013 The Avenue Mail. All Rights Reserved. Online edition of The Avenue Mail published by Vimal Agarwal. Editor: Vimal Agrawal. Telephone: +91 657 2442826.
%d bloggers like this: